Meet The Cable Girls: Kate

In a mini-series (well, there are only three of us!), we want to introduce the world to The Cable Girls: Hannah, Sheila and Kate.

In this final post in the series, Kate is in the hot seat…

How did you get started with knitting?

Kate: My nan taught me how to knit, so I’ve been knitting on and off since I was about four years old.  Sadly I lost my nan a long time ago, but knitting reminds me of her every day.  I have been really in to knitting for about the past ten years, starting with accessories to keep me warm when I was travelling as a student.

What is your earliest memory of knitting?

Kate: Sitting on my nan’s knee putting the yarn around the needles for her to “help” with her knitting!

What is your favourite item you have knitted?

Kate: My cream and red Sundottir jumper.  The pattern is by Diana Walla and was my first attempt at colour work knitting – I love it.  I used Cascade Eco+ and really enjoyed it – fewer ends to sew in and a great fabric.

What is your favourite knitting stitch?

Kate: I love the simplicity of garter stitch.

What is your next project?

Kate: Probably Low Tide by Tincanknits or Still Light Tunic by Veera Välimäki – I have the yarn ready for both but can’t decide. I’m also coveting Sheila’s Hitofude

What are you currently knitting?

Kate: The Pendulum shawl by Amy Miller and some ankle socks from my own design to use up some leftover sock yarn.  I also have a Sock Yarn Blanket by Shelly Kang on the go for little bits of leftover sock-weight yarn – it comes out of the cupboard every now and again but it’s a long way from finished!

What’s your most recent finished object?

Kate: Several pairs of socks 🙂

Knitting or crochet?

Kate: Knitting – my brain can handle five double-pointed needles but not one crochet hook!

Why do you knit? Are you a process knitter or all about the finished object?

Kate: I find knitting really soothing and really enjoy finished objects – so probably a bit of both.

Do you have any questions for The Cable Girls?  Let us know and we’ll try to answer them in upcoming blogs.

Bye for now,

The Cable Girls

Leave a Reply

